Law Enforcement Center

111 S 1st Ave.

Logan, IA 51546

 

 

Hours of Operation

Mon. - Fri.

8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

 

 

Phone:

(712) 644-2244

 

Toll Free:

(877) 644-2299

 

Jail Phone:

(712) 644-2556

 

 

Gun Permit FAQs

 

 Picture of the Coronavirus.COVID-19 Update May 1, 2020By:   Harrison County Sheriff's Office The Harrison County Sheriff's Office is going to start doing new applications and renewal applications by mail only.  Please visit the State of Iowa Weapons Permit page at https://dps.iowa.gov/divisions/administrative-services/weapons-permit to acquire the proper forms. Please include the following:1.  Must include completed application for: NEW permit to carry;  RENEWAL permit to carry and ACQUIRE permit2.  Must include copy of the certificate of completion of training (for NEW carry permits)3.  Must include a COLOR copy of photo ID /DRIVER’S LICENSE with correct Harrison County address4.  Must include payment: cash or check  $50.00 for new permit   $25.00 for renewal   $25.00 for acquire permit Mail to:  Harrison County Sheriff’s Office                Weapon Permit Section                 111 South 1st Avenue                Logan, Iowa 51546 Any questions please call the Sheriff’s Office 712-644-2244  8:00 AM to 4:00 PM  M-F Please allow up to 2 weeks for issuance.Permit will be mailed to the applicant from the Department of Public Safety 

 

 

Q:  What does a person need to get a Permit to Acquire a Handgun?

A:  You will need the following:

 

  • Valid ID issued from the Iowa Department of Transportation with a current address

 

  • Completed application

 

  • There is a $25 fee for a Permit to Acquire.  Make checks payable to the Harrison County Sheriff Office.

 

NOTE: Any person who has been convicted of a felony or domestic violence (or misdemeanor crime resulting from domestic violence) WILL NOT be issued a Permit to Acquire.

 

 

Q:  What does a person need to get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon (Non-Professional or Professional)?

A:  You will need the following:

 

  • Valid ID issued from the Iowa Department of Transportation with a current address

 

  • Completed application

 

Completing the above tasks will enroll an individual to attend a weapons class.  After a successful complete of the class, the individual must then pay for the permit, which is an additional $50.00 cash charge. The cost to renew the permit thereafter is $25.00 cash. The permit is issued for 5 years.

 

 

Q:  Does an individual need to register their handguns in the state of Iowa?

A:  No.  Keep the paperwork (bill of sale) if you buy/sell from an individual.

 

 

© 2017 Harrison County, Iowa